Senator Barack Obama (D-Rezko) must be a very unhappy and miserable man today. As Fathers Day weekend was approaching he decided to unload buckets of his Chicago mud politics on Hillary.
This is from a new website called www.Hillaryis44.org.
A primary focus of the www.Hillaryis44.org is to go negative on HRC's opponents, presently Obama, by collecting and reprinting dirt on them. When one clicks on the "contribution" tab you are taken to the contributions page on HRC's main campaign website. At the same time, the site disowns any connection to HRC's campaign. Is this true?
The goal of negative campaigning (which I define as sharp personal attacks on your opponent) is to undermine support and demoralize the base of your opponent.
While promoting HRC, an equal focus of the site is throwing mud at Obama. He is mocked Obama as "The Senator From Rezko." One entry makes fun of an upcoming Obama related-concert that is not sold out. Another recent entry against Obama (on Father's Day, ) entitled "Unhappy Fathers Day," states:
Senator Barack Obama (D-Rezko) must be a very unhappy and miserable man today. As Fathers Day weekend was approaching he decided to unload buckets of his Chicago mud politics on Hillary. As with most things the clumsy and lurching Obama campaign attempts, the mud bucket missed its intended target. Instead the mud buckets disgorged at the point of origin. Workers at Obama's Chicago campaign headquarters must now wear hip-high swamp boots to navigate their way from floating desk to floating desk, all in danger of being carried away by the mud.
For the present, it appears John Edwards is not being attacked, but I'm sure that will change with time. Instead, the site tries to curry favor with Edwards' supporters by blaming Obama's campaign for leaking to the press the $400 haircut story (while, of course, reminding everyone of the story). There is nothing negative that I see on Bill Richardson or the other candidates.
Is there any connection between www.Hillaryis44.org and HRC's campaign? UCLA Professor Stephen Brainbridge writes:
If you run a Whois search on Hillaryis44.com, you discover that the site was registered by DomainsByProxy.com, which proudly boasts that: "We protect your identity and only reveal it in special situations."So whoever is running the site apparently doesn't want their identity known. Why?
Interestingly, one of the "special situations" in which DomainsByProxy.com will reveal the true site owner's identity is where the owner uses the site to "defame, embarrass, harm, abuse, threaten, or harass third parties." Scanning HillaryIS44.com, I'd say Noonan is right that the blogger is obsessed Obama. Indeed, the very purpose of the site would seem to be to "abuse" Obama, "embarrass" Obama, and "harm" Obama's presidential chances.
Louis Brandeis famously observed that sunlight is the best disinfectant and electric light the best policeman. Disclosure and transparency ought to be the rule in politics. If Hillary's campaign is behind this website, they shouldn't be able to hide behind a proxy registrant.
Update: To be sure, the website states: "We are not affiliated with the Hillary For President Exploratory Committee, or any official Hillary Clinton organization in any way." Maybe so. Maybe not. Unless there is disclosure, however, we can't know. The anonymity of the site raises a legitimate inference that there is some connection to the campaign.
As I noted, on www.Hillaryis44.org there is a denial of any nexus with campaign. Yet, in web terms a link exists. If you click on the contributions link on www.Hillaryis44.org, you are sent to HRC's campaign website. This may be a specifically designated campaign contributions page to track donations from www.Hillaryis44.org as the URL varies slightly from the main contributions page on HRC's website.
Also relevent, the site is content rich and updated regularly. It does not appear the work of one person, but a team. I doubt these people are working for free. Someone or organization is paying for the operation of the site.
Earlier this year, Clinton's campaign called on Obama to disown highly personal and critical comments by Obama supporter David Geffen made against HRC. See http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/ 02/21/clinton-obama-hollywood-brawl/ Howard Wolfson, one of Mrs. Clinton's top advisers, stated:
While Senator Obama was denouncing slash and burn politics yesterday, his campaign's finance chair was viciously and personally attacking Senator Clinton and her husband. If Senator Obama is indeed sincere about his repeated claims to change the tone of our politics, he should immediately denounce these remarks, remove Mr. Geffen from his campaign and return his money. While Democrats should engage in a vigorous debate on the issues, there is no place in our party or our politics for the kind of personal insults made by Senator Obama's principal fundraiser.
What is your view of www.Hillaryis44.org? Should HRC disown the attack content on the site? I believe she should.
|
|
|
Permalink :: 26 Comments :: Post a Comment
|
In order to post a comment, you must be logged in. If you have a member account, please log in to comment.
If not, you can make an account right here. It's quick and free.