Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Taking on the System is a book that I have been waiting on for a long time -- and not just because I have been hearing about it from it from its more nascent stages here in Berkeley from kos, who gets full billing as Markos Moulitsas Zúniga on the book's cover.

Ever since I began devoting several hours a day to blogging about politics more than four years ago, and especially since I started writing professionally for MyDD nearly three years ago, I have been looking for a clear and concise way to explain to my family and friends just what I have been devoting so much of my time and effort to. Whenever I have been asked by a reporter or a Democrat of another generation or even a professor interested in politics about my ideology, or if I am some kind of crazy blogger insistent on a far left political orthodoxy, I have kindly explained that, no, my focus is more on electoral outcomes and bringing effective change than allowing the perfect to be the enemy of the good, all the while hoping that someone would write the tome laying out this pragmatic vision of direct action within the age of the Internet.

This is just that book.

In the 288 highly readable and very engaging pages of Taking on the System, which is released tomorrow, Markos lays out his eight rules for achieving progressive change within today's digital world. Far from just being a book for a bloggers, about bloggers, by a blogger, this is a book that is relevant far beyond the Netroots, or even the expressly political realm. It is a book that folks who don't spend hours a day on sites like MyDD or Talking Points Memo or Daily Kos can read, understand and thoroughly enjoy. Markos goes to great lengths to relate developments within society -- for instance the new open source ways in which new albums are reaching consumers, overturning some of the notions of unchecked and uncheckable powers of the gatekeepers in the music industry -- to changes within the political system that likewise have the capacity to make the country more democratic.

I know that I will be ordering a few copies of the book to give away to assorted friends and family, and I will also personally recommend it to a handful of professors to incorporate into their coursework this fall. But even if you're not at the place where you're looking to purchase multiple copies of a book you have not yet read to give to friends, I would nevertheless highly recommend you get a copy for yourself to see what it's all about. Whether you're someone relatively new to the Netroots, becoming more involved during this year's primaries or even more recently than that, or you're someone who remembers the flame wars on Daily Kos during the last Democratic primaries (or even points further ago in the past than that) -- or even if you just stumbled on this site because you were looking for the latest poll or political news but are not an out and out political junkie -- Taking on the System is a book you should buy and delight in reading.

Tags: book review, Markos Moulitsas Zuniga, meta, netroots, Taking on the System (all tags)

Comments

112 Comments

Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

yawn

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 07:38AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

i yawn your yawn

by amsterdem 2008-08-19 07:44AM | 0 recs
When any one of these pathetic

whining trolls do one one thousandth as much for progressive politics as Markos, then I might possibly have an iota of respect for their point of view.  But they do not DO anything except piss and moan while revelling in the sympathetic croakings of their fellow little frogs in a small pond.  

by ReillyDiefenbach 2008-08-19 09:23AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

yawn

by mikeinsf 2008-08-19 09:48AM | 0 recs
"Yawn"

Markos has done more for the progressive movement in the last five years than you've done in your entire lifetime of whining and yawning.

by Shem 2008-08-19 09:51AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

more to alienate viable voters you mean? Yes I am sure he has done lots of that along with his lying and whining.

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 09:55AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

and there comes the lying hypocritical stalker with his knee-jerk (emphasis on the jerk) emotional TR's.

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 09:59AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

and now comes one of his surrogates LOL

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 10:04AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

LOL guess the surrogate can't take the heat ;p

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 10:43AM | 0 recs
Uprating personal attacks, ChitownDenny.

by Shem 2008-08-19 10:39AM | 0 recs
Nah.

People like you, Alegre, KnowVox, and "Texas" Darlin made up your minds free of mental manipulation by Markos.

by Shem 2008-08-19 10:04AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

You're sure this is kos?  And not Howard Dean, or enthusiastic youth who have finally been drawn into political participation?  I really think it was the people pounding the pavement, coupled with a DNC leader who promoted a 50-state strategy, who have been changing the political landscape.

by milton333 2008-08-19 09:55AM | 0 recs
kos is a propagandist

without an organizing community, this would not have worked as well.

Hack More, you fools!

(this is a reference to the MIT geek ethic of sharing, as seen in kos' website)

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 09:57AM | 0 recs
Re: kos is a propagandist

dis-organizing you mean. kos has lied so often it ain't funny. from the whole lie about HRC darkening BHO in a video to the whole amnesty thing, along with wholesale bannings of people who happened to not support his current fave forever and the disruptive tactics he encourages in his fans the claim that he has done more then anyone or really anything at all is simply delusional on your part.

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 10:02AM | 0 recs
Strawman. Do you need a light?

Or maybe you'd rather just go on the haunted hayride.

No dropping pumpkins on the Big Orange. Bad form.

Try tomatoes.

when did kos ever ban someone? alegre boycotted the place for a 'reason'. Troll ratings ban people, kos doesn't ban people, from what I understand.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 10:06AM | 0 recs
'Bannings of people who didn't support'

Like when Jerome was yanking Obama supporters' rec privileges for recommending "wrong" diaries?  Glass houses.

by Shem 2008-08-19 10:06AM | 0 recs
Re: 'Bannings of people who didn't support'

the whole problem with your accusation is it was not ONLY the rabid haters of anyone not BHO like yourself, it included lots of other folks. In fact I still have not gotten my ratings abilities back so you can blow that lying whiny pity party bullshit right out your ass

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 10:09AM | 0 recs
Re: 'Bannings of people who didn't support'

Gee, I can't imagine why your privileges were revoked.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 10:12AM | 0 recs
Re: 'Bannings of people who didn't support'

well it wasn't for being a hater of anyone but BHO like yourself. in fact as Todd admitted in an email it was for HR'ing someone he admitted was a troll and had just banned. why he still holds that against me is a mystery. but hey facts have never been important to you now have they?

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 10:18AM | 0 recs
Re: 'Bannings of people who didn't support'

and you go on to prove it by your HR LOL what a fool!

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 11:39AM | 0 recs
Re: 'Bannings of people who didn't support'

What I'm interested to know is what redeeming qualities ChitownDenny found in your attack on my character and intellectual integrity that deserved a mojo.  No hard feelings though.  I've long since given up on expecting this blog to be moderated, ever.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 12:36PM | 0 recs
zsg

come play with me! You can be a surrogate too! ;-)

you know who I am. you trollrated me for even coming back.

(not that I know why I got banned AGAIN).

if you're persistent, they do give you priviledges back.

losing the right to comment was the last straw for me.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 10:32AM | 0 recs
You're confused.

I never lost my rec/ratings access.

by Shem 2008-08-19 10:34AM | 0 recs
Re: You're confused.

Well then, why don't you stop repeating lies?  The rec/rates were lost across the board with multiple purges regardless of whom they backed. The particular Obama ones you mentioned just whined the most for having broken the guidelines.

by Jerome Armstrong 2008-08-19 10:51AM | 0 recs
Is This Snark?

Serious question.

Broken the rules by having troll-rated a trolling comment?

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 11:20AM | 0 recs
Re: Is This Snark?

Uh oh, looks like zerosumgame needs to have his rate privileges revoked for that blatant abuse of the troll-rating system. :P

Wait, didn't he say earlier in this thread that he's still waiting to get his privileges back?

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 12:06PM | 0 recs
Is this snark?

by Shem 2008-08-19 11:25AM | 0 recs
Re: "Yawn"

Kos isn't responsible for a majority of the progressive movement online.  But he is an important part of it.

Whether or not a lot of people here think he's full of it.

by randomscientist 2008-08-19 10:17AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Jonathon realizes that we're on the same, progressive team here.  Kudos to him for supporting the cause.

by randomscientist 2008-08-19 10:19AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Screw KOS. If he's the de facto poster child of the progressive blogsphere you can count me out. KOS is as sludge filled as MSNBC or Fox News. Two sides of the same coin if you ask me.

by Iceblinkjm 2008-08-19 07:43AM | 0 recs
Since you liken MSNBC to Fox News

We won't ask you.

by Davidsfr 2008-08-19 07:56AM | 0 recs
Sour grapes? No thanks.

by Glaurung 2008-08-19 08:04AM | 0 recs
screw kos?

well, he is cute.

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:20AM | 0 recs
Re: screw kos?

You need glasses.

by ChitownDenny 2008-08-19 10:41AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Consider yourself counted out.

by fogiv 2008-08-19 09:43AM | 0 recs
Well Said

And a pox on those who would put down Kos and the book. They are not worthy.

by Davidsfr 2008-08-19 07:55AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Good to see that Markos has more time than I do to write another book. I like the concept of doing so, but theory doesn't meet the hours in a day.

by Jerome Armstrong 2008-08-19 08:03AM | 0 recs
Believe it or not

it gets easier. Not at first, since just the thought of writing the whole damn thing without a co-author to help shoulder the load was oppressive. But about midway through, things began to click so much that by the time I finished this book, I had already started work on my next one.

You should give it another try.

by kos 2008-08-19 08:14AM | 0 recs
I thought you two were the same person?

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:16AM | 0 recs
Re: I thought you two were the same person?

I'm afraid sour grapes have become part of the recipe for every dish on this blog.

But credit kos with the better zinger.

by Glaurung 2008-08-19 08:36AM | 0 recs
puma parsley

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:50AM | 0 recs
Re: puma parsley

LOL!

by ReillyDiefenbach 2008-08-19 09:25AM | 0 recs
Re: Believe it or not

LOL reading a book by you would be as entertaining as reading O.J.'s bio, and about as honest.

by zerosumgame 2008-08-19 08:56AM | 0 recs
Re: Believe it or not

looks like the spewage of comments towards you are challenging the standard that I usually get around here. I've set a pretty high bar of antipathy, and you are proving yourself competitive.

by Jerome Armstrong 2008-08-19 09:04AM | 0 recs
you've set a high barrier to transparency

when people continue to question you as to why they can't rec, comment, etc... I don't think that's because they hate you.

At least it's not when I do it.

Can I please has my account back?

As to the actual hate, I think that's just more propaganda -- just like the Hillary hate. It stirs up the homecrowd, and that's about that. If you asked people five months from now, if they really cared about "insert primary battle here" -- you'll just get a blank stare.

No More Drama.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 09:26AM | 0 recs
as a sidenote

I would find it inherently amusing if the trolls ganged up on Jerome and made it so that he was banned (not that that would take much time to fix).

But it would be hilarious.

//Stay good, kiki, stay good!

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 09:27AM | 0 recs
Re: Believe it or not

Kudos for the cajones.

by ChitownDenny 2008-08-19 10:43AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

ZZZZ...more fodder for his daily-ego.

i imagine a dark place where i have placed many people from whom i don't want to hear again as a result of the past primary. kos is in the 9th circle along with keith o.

by darwinism 2008-08-19 08:12AM | 0 recs
The 9th Circle sounds like a great name for a bar

and if I get to hang out with Keith, even better. What other cool people are on your shit list? We might as well have a party there.

by kos 2008-08-19 08:16AM | 0 recs
Re: The 9th Circle sounds like a great ...

Sounds like a happening crowd.  Don't forget the politicians too, though.  You can bet Howard Dean's probably there, and Bill "Judas" Richardson.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 08:20AM | 0 recs
Re: The 9th Circle sounds like a great ...

john edwards and nancy pelosi just walked in.

by darwinism 2008-08-19 08:23AM | 0 recs
Re: The 9th Circle sounds like a great ...

Unfortunately nobody in the bar really likes them either all of a sudden.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 08:36AM | 0 recs
Re: The 9th Circle sounds like a great ...

chris matthews is there too...he's feeling a tingling on his leg. or it might just be larry craig sitting next to him.

by darwinism 2008-08-19 08:53AM | 0 recs
We need a bigger room...

Here comes Gloria Steinem and I think I recognize the Democratic Caucus behind her...

by chrisblask 2008-08-19 08:34PM | 0 recs
Re: We need a bigger room...

donna brazile and the entire month of february are knocking back shots of crown royal.

by darwinism 2008-08-19 09:38PM | 0 recs
sounds like a great name for a bar
I think Barack Obama might be on it.  Just a guess.  
Congratulations on your new book and on having the finest, easiest to navigate (ahem) blog known to man.
by ReillyDiefenbach 2008-08-19 09:29AM | 0 recs
Re: The 9th Circle sounds like a great name for a

9TH Circle's a good time.  Now, the 10th Circle across the street... a real dive!

by mikeinsf 2008-08-19 09:51AM | 0 recs
You mean this one?

http://www.theonion.com/content/node/288 98

My favorite Onion article of all time.

by Elsinora 2008-08-19 01:19PM | 0 recs
Re: You mean this one?

LOL.  Thanks!

by mikeinsf 2008-08-20 12:33AM | 0 recs
Heh

The 9th Circle would be a great name for the joint, but it would be the exlcusive members only cigar lounge for VIPs.  The remainder of the place would be known simply as:

Under The Bus.

by fogiv 2008-08-19 09:52AM | 0 recs
I'm a bartender...

can I come?  I make damn good bruised sapphire martinis...

by Elsinora 2008-08-19 11:50AM | 0 recs
Re: I'm a bartender...

That would be awesome. Bartenders have an "all-access" pass to anything.

by kos 2008-08-19 12:38PM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Kos- your site was a cesspool of hate and lies during the primaries. You did both the nation and the party a disservice by letting it happen. Is it about the money for you? I find it hard to swallow that a "progressive" activist would allow such a thing to happen. Do your Reagan roots get the better of you sometime or are you just a sexist pig?

by Iceblinkjm 2008-08-19 08:37AM | 0 recs
I'm guessing your candidate lost.

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:40AM | 0 recs
ya know, my candidate lost, too

on the eve of the Iowa caucus, Edwards won the straw poll with 48% of the vote, beating Barack by 21%.

http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2008/1 /2/3941/69870

I didn't cry and leave.

The next day I posted saying Obama would win Iowa, that made the top of the recommend list.

http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/1/3/1 21835/0132

Moral of the story: Big Dawgs can succeed in a pootie blog.

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:47AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Oh, please.  And you think it's all sweet and sugar here?  I don't know if you've been over there lately, but the fights are much nastier here, at least since the primaries.

by mikeinsf 2008-08-19 09:55AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Sorry - won't be spending any money to read what Kos has to say.

by lovepolitics 2008-08-19 08:45AM | 0 recs
I see, you're going to the libary instead

zing!

like fish in a barrel.

by Al Rodgers 2008-08-19 08:48AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

I think KOS did his readers and the party a disservice by fostering said atmosphere. I saw an opportunity to speak my mind and I took it. I personally think he's a hack journalist who is in it for the money and notoriety.

by Iceblinkjm 2008-08-19 08:49AM | 0 recs
Cold day in h*ll when I

would give money to a Dean operative and Reagan lover.

Sorry my money will be spent on reading books by people who actually are progressive, liberal and believe in democracy.

by Jjc2008 2008-08-19 08:54AM | 0 recs
because dean's not progressive?

I'm sorry, but you need an update with a cluebyfour.

Dean don't run kos.

Your authoritarian ideology is screwing with your reality detector. Democrats are NOWHERE near as organized as to have one person leading a movement.

The fact that anyone can believe such a thing is unsettling.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 09:30AM | 0 recs
Not in my mind

Authoritarian.....
that's the best you've got for name calling today.

Coming from someone defending the site known for bullying and name calling, group think and kool aid drinking, that's funny.

by Jjc2008 2008-08-19 11:51AM | 0 recs
Re: Not in my mind

Known by whom, Bill O'Reilly?

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 12:15PM | 0 recs
Re: Cold day in h*ll when I

Doesn't Lou Dobbs have a new one out?  Or Pat Buchanan?

Right up your alley.

by fogiv 2008-08-19 09:55AM | 0 recs
Ho Hum.

Kos has done a lot for the net roots and seemingly has been good for progressive causes.

Even with all his contributions to 'our' side of the political aisle, he has far too much baggage associated with his positively atrocious campaign against Hillary during the primaries for me to ever pay any attention to him again.

You don't assassinate the character of a good Democrat just so your chosen candidate can win.  That's a GOP tactic, and apparently one he learned back 'in the day'.

His book will probably outsell Nancy's, but I sincerely hope it's in the bargain bin soon.

by emsprater 2008-08-19 09:13AM | 0 recs
don't rag on kos so much

I don't think that most of the worst of it was his work.

Then again, I don't blame Jerome for Alegre.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 09:32AM | 0 recs
Re: don't rag on kos so much

I don't blame Kos for his users.  I blame Kos for Kos.  His FP hits were just too much to stomach.

by emsprater 2008-08-19 10:31AM | 0 recs
This is why kos made such an effective

advocate for Hillary. He was reasonably fair in his coverage -- i heard about thelma and louise on his site. I also heard about how warm and caring and witty Clinton is -- and I believe him, because it's apparent that he doesn't particularly like her politcs.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 10:38AM | 0 recs
Re: This is why kos made such an effective

Yes, his continued efforts to paint her and Bill as racist were so 'balanced' and helpful to the party.

by emsprater 2008-08-19 10:41AM | 0 recs
Re: This is why kos made such an effective

Please be joking.  I think you are.  This is great snark...

by MMR2 2008-08-19 10:43AM | 0 recs
'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'
You don't assassinate the character of a good Democrat just so your chosen candidate can win.

"Commander-in-Chief threshold," "elitist," not a Muslim "as far as I know."
by Shem 2008-08-19 09:58AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

and none of those sound bytes were anything like you purport them to be, and have been dissected to death and proven to be not what Obama supporters who were also Hillary haters claimed them to be.

Kos's FP hits were in fact, hits designed to paint the Clinton's as racist.

by emsprater 2008-08-19 10:33AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

None of these purported Hillary statements even remotely rise to the level of hate-mongering and character assassination that Kos allowed to flourish on his site--and even engaged in himself.

Not to mention that Hillary never called Obama himself an elitist, nor did her "as far as I know" comment come close to being a character attack.  The myth that "as far as I know" was a calculated attack on Obama's character was long ago debunked...see Media matters and elsewhere.

by MMR2 2008-08-19 10:34AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

Let's have some links, then.  Since context is so very important, and you've provided even less evidence--the grandparent post actually cited comments that Hillary Clinton herself made, out of context as they may be.  You've provided nothing but your own assertions, and that's all the kos-haters ever seem to provide.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 11:25AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

The 'grandparent post' cited phrases that were clipped to 'sound bytes' and given nefarious meanings by folks with the clear intent to do so. One could also cite 'typical white woman' in much the same way, and you would decry it as would I as not representative of anything Obama ever believed in or stood for.  The person you responded to gave you a place where evidence of some debunking of the 'grandparent post's' attacks exists, but you want ....  ho hum ....  'links'.

No one who despises Kos's hits on Hillary will provide you such links because they are all on his site, and most of us will not spend our time looking there to find them for you.

I'm far from being a 'Kos hater'.  I am a person who is of the opinion that Kos did his best to destroy a perfectly good Democrat's reputation, and for that I hold him responsible by commenting about it and witholding my support for his website, his News Week writings and his books.

by emsprater 2008-08-20 07:17AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

The person you responded to gave you a place where evidence of some debunking of the 'grandparent post's' attacks exists, but you want ....  ho hum ....  'links'.

Indeed.  The "links" that I was looking for were evidence of "hate-mongering and character assassination that Kos allowed to flourish on his site--and even engaged in himself."

That was not provided.  It's never been provided.  It's just assumed to be true.

No one who despises Kos's hits on Hillary will provide you such links because they are all on his site, and most of us will not spend our time looking there to find them for you.

Now isn't that convenient.

by BishopRook 2008-08-20 08:25AM | 0 recs
Re: 'assassinate the character of a good Democrat'

There's the difference between folks who are reality based when it comes to the political 'hits' made by both sides during the primary, and those who continue to deny any existed. If you had cited nastiness from an Alegre diary, or complained about the crap slung here at Michelle Obama as 'welfare queen', I would not have demanded links, because I freely accept that this took place, even though I didn't read or see it all.

On the other hand, folks want to continue to deny that Kos ever wrote anything inflammatory just to inflame, knowing the truth was a different matter.  I submit 'She made him blacker', but I won't provide you a link.  His 'burden' to carry for painting a good Democrat with a solid record on issues of race as a racist is huge. Keep your head in the sand if you wish.

by emsprater 2008-08-20 09:20AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Kos can suck my toe.  His site is blocked from my home and I'll certainly never spend a dime (or library card swipe) for anything with his name on it.

by BRockNYC 2008-08-19 09:39AM | 0 recs
If Kos was a "hate site" in the primary

...then this site was the Westboro Baptist Church webpage.  The percentage of posts on Kos that were hateful was far, far lower than here, and such posts made the rec list far more often here.

Sorry, but to the former Clinton supporters who hold a grudge about Kos's "hate"--you were perfectly fine when the hate was against Obama, hell, many of you contributed to it!  Pots, kettles, and glass houses abound.

by Elsinora 2008-08-19 09:44AM | 0 recs
I don't believe in sockpuppets

If I could rec this twice, I would.

by Dreorg 2008-08-19 09:55AM | 0 recs
Re: I don't believe in sockpuppets

I gave it a rec in your name.

by mikeinsf 2008-08-19 09:57AM | 0 recs
Done.

by Shem 2008-08-19 09:58AM | 0 recs
I also recommended it

Unbelievable the irrational vile toward Kos and the dailykos site--all because the better candidate who did get more votes (yes he really did) and won more delegates legitimately got the nomination?

Sheesh!

by Davidsfr 2008-08-19 10:06AM | 0 recs
DK attitude; agree or go

I don't like that site due to the overzealous censorship that goes on. For example; take the incident where the blogger was banned for telling the truth about John Edwards.

by soyousay 2008-08-19 10:47AM | 0 recs
Re: DK attitude; agree or go

Well now that's just laden with context, isn't it?  You provide very little clue as to what you're talking about, but I have to presume it was a poster who was banned for parroting the Enquirer's story about Edwards before it was admitted to be accurate.

It doesn't even matter that it turned out to be accurate, if you peddle the Enquirer's mud-slinging bullshit on any reputable progressive site, you deserve to be banned immediately.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 11:27AM | 0 recs
Re: I don't believe in sockpuppets

about as well put as i've heard yet, rec'd

by brezinst 2008-08-19 10:07AM | 0 recs
Kos WAS (is?) a hate site

Sorry, but this is patently false.  The overall level of hate directed at Clinton supporters on Kos's playground far, far exceeded the net effect of Obama hate here.

On myDD, there has always been a much greater degree of balance between Obama and Clinton supporters, and a much more representative cross-section of Democratic views.

by MMR2 2008-08-19 10:29AM | 0 recs
so that racism rant about mydd

... just fake.

deoliver, just fake?

dude, give the gal some credit. she had fbi on her tail.

I'd say she qualifies as a judge of how like a cesspit myDD was.

by BlogSurrogate57 2008-08-19 10:36AM | 0 recs
Re: Kos WAS (is?) a hate site
I think DailyKos had its share of fanatics but is too huge and diverse to have one point of view(Hilary hate). Besides they have a lot of diaries not dealing with the primaries or the elections but with topics that Democrats feel passionate about - environment,Iraq,FISA,womens rights,candidate diaries etc.
MyDD has been polarized to a large degree by the primary wars and is still focused to a large degree on the elections and retrospective on the primaries. There has been a lot of friction here between the pro-Obama and pro-Clinton camps which still continues on to this day mostly manifesting itself in vitriolic comments or the occasional Unity or PUMA diary.
by ozeki saketini 2008-08-19 11:28AM | 0 recs
Re: Kos WAS (is?) a hate site

Quite so.  Dkos has a plethora of issue diaries.  MyDD has little aside from primary diaries, even today.

Current rec list for MyDD:

[!] Hillary Clinton for VP
by Sieglinde
42 comments (42 new)

A Hillary Hater for Hillary
by maconblue
82 comments (66 new)

The Grownup Wing of the Democratic Party
by Beltway Dem
92 comments (73 new)

[!] Barr takes McCain to the Woodshed. Perot, Eat Your Heart Out.
by Bob Sackamento
5 comments (5 new)

[!] McCain's Sex (and Woman) Problem
by grannyhelen
25 comments (25 new)

The top three of five are primary-related.  The other two are election-related.

Dkos:

McCain's classmate and fellow POW: I won't vote for John
by VirginiaDem

CNN's Cafferty one-ups Olbermann...
by czardingus

My Response to the Feedback from the "Cross in the Dirt" issue. (+1 update)
by rickrocket

DNC Nails Mr. "5 Million"
by MLDB

Obama Stands Firm on Iraq, Hits McCain Hard Before VFW (w/VIDEO)
by dansac

Is Rape Tourism In The United States A Real Phenomena?
by AndyT

An inelegant plea for AB- blood.
by JeffLieber

McCain Wants To Announce VP On Anniversary Of Katrina?
by slinkerwink

No primary diaries.  6/8 are general-election diaries, 2/8 are issue diaries.

You can just feel the Hillary-hate, can't you?  It's like the air they breathe.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 11:45AM | 0 recs
Re: Kos WAS (is?) a hate site

That's not representative of dKos during the time before Hillary was defeated by the left. (Yes, that's what did her in, and yes, I predicted back inthe very early days of the primary BEFORE I was a supporter of hers).

The reason you can show nothing on the list today at dKos showing the hate for Hillary is because folks over there feel they have won in their effort to send her packing.  Largely, they have won by making Democrats in general look like a food fight from an Animal House movie.

by emsprater 2008-08-20 07:23AM | 0 recs
Re: Kos WAS (is?) a hate site

That's not what half the people commenting here seem to think.  They seem to think that Dkos is nothing but a Hillary-hate site, defined simply by its deep and unyielding loathing for Hillary Clinton.

During the primary, most people there supported Edwards.  When he dropped, most people there supported Obama.  Most people here supported Clinton.

The primary is now over; Dkos has moved on.  MyDD has not.

by BishopRook 2008-08-20 08:19AM | 0 recs
preaching to the choir

The choir can purchase his book, not me.

by soyousay 2008-08-19 10:27AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

I have no doubt this book would be fascinating reading.  I also have no doubt Keith Olbermann has fascinating opinions.  However, these two Democrats who have lost this Democrat as an audience.   The Hillary-hate espoused by Kos, and Olbermann, has repurcussions.  Good luck to Kos, and good-bye.

by ChitownDenny 2008-08-19 10:29AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

The irony?

Neither of these excellent Democrats hate Hillary Clinton.  Keith Olbermann was a Clinton supporter at the beginning of the primary season.

Criticism and hate are not the same thing.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 11:29AM | 0 recs
Olberman supports Olberman

and kos is all about kos.

Give me a break.  We get it.  Bullying and gang hits on KOS were ridiculous, immature and reflects what kos has become.

This site has its share of nasties on both sides...
but unlike the daily Obama, there are not gangs of kiddos going after those who think differently or gang recommending all Hillary Hate diaries.

I have yet to see the sexism displayed by Olberman and his gang at MSNBC matched anywhere in the media.
I have yet to read a blog that calls itself progressive that is as comfortable with ageism and sexism as dkos.  And yet still will not admit the truth: that saying someone recounting of their past position is a fairy tale (because you believe they changed it) is NOT racist.
That comparing Obama's victory to Jesse's victory is not only NOT RACIST; it is an insult to the years of all that Jesse Jackson did for civil rights to say it is racist or negative.

When KOS and friends admit their dirty tactics of calling Hillary Clinton a racist was wrong, maybe I might not harbor the resentment.  That was a lie, a nasty, dirty rovian scam and to me, unforgiveable.  

by Jjc2008 2008-08-19 12:01PM | 0 recs
Re: Olberman supports Olberman

but unlike the daily Obama, there are not gangs of kiddos going after those who think differently or gang recommending all Hillary Hate diaries.

Seriously?  When I see a brand new anti-Obama diary posted on this site, no matter how ludicrous and fact-free, I can close my eyes and name at least 8 people who will rec it.  And within ten minutes I will be right.

I have yet to see the sexism displayed by Olberman

Name it.

One instance.

Is this the "take her into a back room and only he comes out" bullcrap again?  That had better not be the one instance you name, after decrying Obama supporters for misconstruing comments by the Clintons in the very next breath.

I'll give you Chris Matthews.  He's an irritating sexist slimeball.  But Olbermann is and always has been a strong progressive.

by BishopRook 2008-08-19 12:14PM | 0 recs
It will be a cold day in hell,

when I give any money to someone like Kos.
by TaiChiMaster 2008-08-19 10:59AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

Wow - - it's election season, and Kos has a book out?  That's just stunning.  Of course, I was forewarned, since he's been pimping it on his site ever since he stopped conducting his personal crusade to post a hitpiece against Hillary every hour.  

I can't wait not to read this one.  

by wavery2001 2008-08-19 11:38AM | 0 recs
No offense, Mr. Singer, BUT

This reads more like a synopsis or sales pitch than a book review.

I've learned nothing new about this release by reading this.

Sorry.

by wanderindiana 2008-08-19 11:50AM | 0 recs
Re: Book Review: Taking on the System, by kos

no thanks jerome, just the hideous color of that book alone makes me nauseous

by BlueDoggyDogg 2008-08-19 01:40PM | 0 recs
Availability?

Important book, whatever the uninformed takes on this blog, and whatever the ultimate judgement of the book.

Does anyone know if it's available as yet?

Amazon won't have it for another ten days.

Mark
markpsf@mac.com

by markpsf 2008-08-20 12:58PM | 0 recs

Diaries

Advertise Blogads